So Long, Farewell, Auf Weidersehen, Goodbye


For those you have been with the column from the beginning, you’ll remember that I said the first day that this was meant to be an experiment. That first week I had 22 readers and did four radio interviews.

The numbers grew quickly to around 6,000 readers per day, and the radio interviews continued, sometimes one or two a week. The heights were two days when the column was about the death of a young woman in Iran named Nada. Readership exceeded 11,000 each day.

Then something happened. No one knows what…I have been on the telephone and sending e-mail messages back and forth at a furious rate. Readership began to drop, slowly at first, then pretty quickly, until now there are less than 100 readers per day. This column takes quite a bit of work and over the Labor Day weekend I did a survey and the overwhelming response was to let it go, for now. Since most of the columns for September had been done, I decided to wait until the end of this month, just in case the readership numbers began to climb again. But alas, then have never been higher than 100 all month.

The staff at My Daily Column ;)

The staff at My Daily Column 😉

One of the things I wanted to accomplish was to fulfill a dream of being a daily columnist, and I believe I was able to do that.

Another was to improve my love for writing, but that didn’t happen. I sit find it hard, painful and I still hate it as much as ever. But I am very gratified by the wonderful comments I received for the last seven months about my writing talent. I have been told I am a good writer, and that I need to write more. Those are some very generous thoughts, and I am humbled by them.

The final desire was to learn to be a tighter, more concise writer, and I do believe I have been able to do that.

Well, this experiment is over…for now. When I figure out a few things, then perhaps I’ll be able to make a comeback. Check every once in a while to see. Those on the e-mail list will be notified if it happens. And if you would like to be put on the e-mail list, send me a message to ric@ricmorgan.com and let me know.

One part of me is sorry to see it end, and another is glad it’s over. I live in paradox daily, so divided feelings like that are not unusual for me.

If you have any ideas, let me know.

God bless all of you who have stuck it out. I hope there were one or two columns you liked well enough to consider them favorites.

Bye.

If you take pride in your work...sign it! - © 2009, Ric Morgan and SimpleWords Communications. All rights reserved.

If you take pride in your work...sign it! - © 2009, Ric Morgan and SimpleWords Communications. All rights reserved.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment